2018 Greater Charlotte Hot Stove League Award Finalists Announced

The Greater Charlotte Hot Stove League is proud to present the award finalists for the 11th Annual Greater Charlotte Hot Stove League Dinner on February 2nd.   For the 11th consecutive season, baseball and softball families will gather for a night of fellowship and recognition of top Student-Athletes in the Greater Charlotte Region.  Over 800 guests are expected to attend the event at the Oasis Shriners Auditorium located near UNCC.


The first class evening of fun and fellowship is designed to bring both sports communities together to honor the game and the youth that work hard to excel on and off the field of play. The Greater Charlotte Hot Stove Dinner features an honor roll of former award winners including; Major League Baseball Rookie of the Year Corey Seager of the LA Dodgers; Richie Shaffer of the Cleveland Indians, Trent Thornton, Brett Austin, Max Wotell, Brian Holberton, Tyler Tewell, Alexander Bostic, Ryder Ryan, Bailey Ober, Chris Clare and former and current college softball stars Lexi Davis, Sarah Mooney, Kalie Lang, Constance Orr, Mattie Nuccio and Leah Murray. New award winners in over 20 categories will be announced at the 11th Annual Greater Charlotte Hot Stove League Dinner on February 2nd.

In addition to the awards banquet, guests will enjoy dinner, the annual presentation of the Coach Lou Presutti Award, a silent auction with over 300 items, a Yeti Cooler raffle and fellowship with other members of the Greater Charlotte Youth Baseball and Softball Communities. The previous ten years have witnessed sold out crowds and another full house of over 800 guests is expected.


To secure your tickets, please visit www.hotstovedinner.com


Below you will find the list of finalists.  It is important to note that in order to be selected as a finalist, the student-athletes were first nominated and then chosen by a selection committee.  The finalists were then required to submit biographical information and complete other action items before a set deadline.   Some student-athletes not mentioned here may have been chosen as finalists, but did not communicate or meet the deadlines for action items.


Congratulations to all finalists!  Looking forward to February 2nd!




High School Baseball Player of the Year
Cam Brantley Ardrey Kell
Jonah Beamon Charlotte Christian
Sam Zayicek Lake Norman
Josh Haney SouthLake Christian
Josh Swartz Sun Valley
High School Baseball Pitcher of the Year
Justin Jarvis Lake Norman
Jonathan Perez Lake Norman
Luke Little East Mecklenburg
Tim Townsend Providence
Nolan Bolt Indian Land
 Rohan Handa  Cannon School
High School Baseball Catcher of the Year
Jeremiah Boyd Hickory Ridge
Justin Wilkins Hough
John Hosmer Charlotte Country Day
Tyler McPeak North Lincoln
Charotte Knights High School Baseball “Gamer” of the Year
Nick Solomita North Lincoln
Caleb Bruce Sun Valley
Bryce Daniel Providence Day
Lane Hoover Lincolnton
Devin Faggart NW Cabarrus
Stephen Ridge Marvin Ridge
High School Baseball Leadership Award
Luke Drumheller Olympic
Zack Budzik Sun Valley
Justin Murray Providence Day
Campbell Shepard Charlotte Catholic
High School Baseball Rising Star of the Year Awards
Patrick Alvarez Myers Park (2019)
Trey Tujetsch Ardrey Kell (2019)
Jesse Harkey Parkwood  (2019)
Michael Lewis Cox Mill (2019)
 JD Brock  Hough  (2019)
Cooper King Carmel Christian (2020)
Trey Truitt East Meck (2020)
Cameron Clonch Mooresville (2020)
Preston Hall Stuart Cramer (2020)
High School Baseball Scholar Athlete of the Year Award
Sam Edwards Ardrey Kell
Rohan Handa Cannon School
Reed Hedberg South Mecklenburg
Matt Burke Weddington
William Hamil Charlotte Country Day
Anthony Palma Lake Norman
Charlotte Baseball Report Youth Baseball Player of the Year Award
Brandon Hudson Cuthbertson
Calvert Clark Community House
Sam Yelton Central Cabarrus
Seth Whitley North Lincoln
Philip Abner Covenant Day
Adam Faulk Tanksley Spirit of the Game Award  (Comeback Player of the Year)
Matthew Helms Marvin Ridge
Justin Wilkins Hough
Reed Hedberg South Mecklenburg
High School Softball Player of the Year
Camryn Dean Sun Valley
Lindsay Perillo Weddington
Hannah Faulkenberry Charlotte Christian
Mary Pierce Barnes Parkwood
Dakota Christie Hickory Ridge
High School Softball Pitcher of the Year
Caroline Ruth Parkwood
Reah Barger Lincoln Charter
Gracie Rape Piedmont
Joelle Davis Mooresville
Madison Michael Cox Mill
High School Softball Gamer of the Year Award
Sam Matsil Porter Ridge
Rebecca Murray Sun Valley
Ruthie Jackson Mooresville
Carson Warlick West Lincoln
Ally Todaro Hickory Ridge
High School Softball Scholar Athlete Award
Tabitha Formon Myers Park
Carson Warlick West Lincoln
Maegan Garrison Hickory Ridge
Gracie Rape Piedmont
Ruthie Jackson Mooresville
Youth Softball Player of the Year
Riley Becker Weddington Middle
Jillian Thomas Piedmont Middle
Jordan Hatch West Stanley
Megan Gordon SouthLake Christian
Paysia Reed Cox Mill
Laura Hay Providence
Jordan Baker Central Cabarrus
Youth Team of the Year
Marvin Ridge 7th Grade Baseball
Charlotte Christian Baseball
Team NC Louisville Slugger- Hinde 12U Softball
Carolina Travel Sports 11U and Under Team of the Year
DiamondKings 11U
Team 24 Gamecocks – Ashley
Piedmont Panthers 9U
Team 24 Gamecocks Bailey 10U
Carolina Travel Sports 12U and Up Team of the Year
Team Carolina 14U
Team 24 Gamecocks Brown 12U
Rivals Baseball 13U